The DARK ARTS Series

The Dark Arts series is a secret-history fantasy set against the international geopolitics of the mid- to late twentieth century. It principally follows the adventures of Cade Martin and Anja Kernova, while also delving into the lives and struggles of other karcists (i.e., sorcerers) whose paths intersect with theirs.

What is ‘secret history’?

Unlike alternate-history fiction, secret histories strive to set their narratives in the world and history we assume to be real.

This means that, to the best of the author’s ability, the story will seek to adhere to the facts of history, especially as it pertains to technology and society.

What kinds of stories does this series tell?

One of the key ideas behind this series is for each volume to be a different kind of story. The first book, The Midnight Front, has been crafted as a war epic spanning the years 1939–1945 in the European theater of war.

Book two, The Iron Codex, is set in 1954 and is a spy thriller rooted in Cold War espionage.

The third book in the series, The Shadow Commission, is a fast-paced conspiracy thriller set in 1963, immediately after the assassination of President John F. Kennedy.

When did these books come out?

The Midnight Front was published by Tor Books on January 30, 2018.

The Iron Codex was published on January 15, 2019.

The Shadow Commission was published on August 11, 2020.