November 1963. Cade Martin and Anja Kernova have lived in hiding for a decade, training new mages. In the United States, Briet Segfrunsdóttir runs America’s top-secret Occult Defense Program from the Silo beneath the Pentagon.

Then the assassination of President Kennedy plunges all their lives into chaos. Briet, whose job was to defend Kennedy, is blamed for his death. Meanwhile, mages all over the world are brutally murdered—with Cade, Anja, and their closest allies being the prime targets.

Outgunned, on the run, and not knowing who to trust, Cade and Anja have just one hope to save themselves and their last few apprentices: they must find a way to fight the sinister cabal known only as The Shadow Commission.

Read more about the Dark Arts series by following the links to Related Content on this page about the series’ first novel, The Midnight Front.

Product Details

  • Trade Paperback, eBook & Digital Audio; 352 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Books (August 11, 2020)
  • ISBN-10: 0765383233
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765383235

To order the book from the retailer of your choice, visit its page on>